Discuss Checking other circuits after fitting outdoor socket? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi All,

Firstly, I am not an electrician but, two of us are starting a electrical contracting business in a niche product area. Our newly qualified electrician is saying that if he fits, for example, outdoor sockets, that he has to do a ton of testing of other circuits in the house to verify they are ok too. This could make a one hour job a long as three hours.

As much as we trust him we are concerned that he may be being a little over cautious. Can anyone provide me/us with a little advice regarding this please?

Thanks

if a socket is fitted to an existing circuit, that circuit must be tested to ensure it's safe to add to. also earthing and bonding need to be checked and rectified if needed. other circuits don't need testing, but if there are any obvious signs of danger, this needs to be entered on whatever certificate is prepared.

If "your newly qualified Electrician" installs a new circuit to an existing installation, he will need to ensure the following?
RCD protection
Main bonding is in place
And he will need to provide a Electrical installation certificate for the new circuit.
Being "newly qualified" he should already know this

Main bonding and additional protection are likely to be your main worries. These must be verified and if necessary rectified before even minor works are undertaken. Both can add considerable cost and time to a small installation. Whatever your 'niche product area' involves you will need to put a system in place to verify the above before work commences or you will come a cropper.

Hi All,