Discuss Chemistry graduate looking into retraining as an electrician; how is the industry and is it worth it in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Tcol91

-
Reaction score
I'm new here and I apologise in advance if I've posted this in the wrong place. I would just like some advice on the electrician route as I'm meeting conflicting opinions on it from family and friends.

First and foremost, I completed my degree in chemistry in 2014 and have been working various chem jobs since. I don't enjoy it, I'm often bored out of my mind and clock watching. The pay is shocking and jobs are getting fewer and far between.

I've been thinking about becoming a spark for a while now, however my parents are saying they know loads of sparks that are out of work. On the other hand, I know of a few sparks that seem relatively happy and are busy constantly. My point is, is this going to be another job in which I get qualified and then cannot find work in?

I'm looking at a training with a local provider that uses the EAL courses; level 2, 3 + 17th ed and wiring regs. I'd do the course in the evenings and once finished I understand I'd have to find experience in order to build my portfolio.

My question is, I'm having to get a loan to do this course and I don't want to end up spending the money only to be in another industry that's suffering. Is it worth it? Why are there so many bad reviews about becoming a spark?

Thanks to anyone that replied.

I have had no problem with shortage of work in over 50 years
There is and always has been good demand for electricians and it likely will continue for ever and a day in my opinion
There is however problems with the training routes that have become numerous in the last ten or so years
Traditional means of training via a four or five year apprenticeship was and is the best route to producing a competent "acceptable to industry" spark