Discuss City & Guilds 2392 Practical Exam in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

chris-leeds

Hi. By trade I'm a qualified mechanical maintenance engineer with 30 years experience and recently I've been trying to diversify in order to gain not only new, but continual employment.

Over the last couple of years I've passed the nebosh health & safety qualification, the city & guilds 2377 pat testing qualification and recently the city & guilds 2382 17th edition qualification. This week I took the city & guilds 2392 inspection & testing examination after completing the course. I passed the online Gola exam but failed miserably with the practical. I'm annoyed at failing the practical exam, but not as annoyed as I am at what is happening in this country when it comes to securing employment.

These days to be a mechanical maintenance engineer you have to be all things to everybody. You're required to have qualifications and experience of much more than was required of you 20 or 30 years ago. People like myself in their late 40's are having to go out and learn new skills and obtain diverse qualifications or resign themselves to the scrap heap. Gone are the days when we all stuck to our own disciplines, we’re now expected to be multi-skilled, work overtime for single time pay and be on 24 hour call out.

It's not surprising that I failed the 2392 practical because as to date, I have pretty much no knowledge of electrical installations, yet I've taken a course that covers testing your own installations, I'm the first to question the logic in that, but I don't have the time to go on a 2330 course and there are limited options available to people like myself at this time of life with regards to learning new skills.

I know that in a factory environment like I'm used to there is very little need for single phase domestic qualifications, but I guess they're better than none.