Discuss Coil relay switching 2 power supplies in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Zozew007

DIY
Reaction score
Hey,

Total noob here so please be patient ?

I have two power supplies mains 220v in a type of small cabin/house every day around 8am they cut of the good supply and leave it off for a few hours then turn it back in again.

What I would love would be a contraption that switches between the power supplies.

Can a simple 220v 14pin relay do the trick?

The load is minimal.. Maybe 2A max more like 1A...but there are 2 inductive loads 2 60w fans...

The 2 power supplies are not the same in voltage as the one cut of runs some type of AVR. So there is sometimes a difference of 20v between the supplies.. 220 on one and 200 on the other..

I've been trying to read up on feedback and synchronization AC etc but I can't find something that kinda fits my situation... I'm not looking for a "certified" way of doing it... Just some info and how it could be done... Budget is a big factor..

Thanks

Last edited:
You can buy this ready-made, it's called an automatic transfer switch (ATS). They are most often used to transfer between the incoming line and a backup generator or inverter.

In principle, a 2-pole changeover relay will do the job. Connect the coil and the normally open contacts to the priority supply, so that when it is live, the relay operates and selects it. Connect the normally closed contacts to the backup supply, so that it gets selected by default when the priority supply is unavailable.