Discuss Combine two electric meters? in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

clare1234

Hi Guys,

Please be gentle this is my first thread!

Really need expert, independant advice.
I have a shop which has two electric meters one is for the lighting/ power sockets, the other is for night storage units.
Would it be cheaper to combine the two meters? I'm currently paying the same kwh rate and daily service charge for both meters. The amounts are, 22.02 kwh and £7.00 monthly service charge with British Gas.
I only use one of the three storage heaters during the winter months. When it gets really cold I use either an oil filled radiator or a halogen heater.

If I can't combine the two should i get british gas to disconect the night storage meter, leaving me with one meter and no service charge on the other?

Storage heaters look about ten years old.

Any help would be appreciated as I have little knowledge in this field!

Cheers Clare
xxxx

Well, its not really a Sparkies question - more of a consumers one

As you`re using the (theoretically cheaper) nightrate so little, i`m confident you`ll get a better deal by combining the 2 and getting a lower cost flat-rate

If you can (and its surprisingly difficult to get em to actually tell you) get the various providers to give you a KW/H price (insist upon it) instead of a "we can save you £683 a year"

Allow for the differing standing charges (some will mix it in with your flat-rate) and go for the cheapest - obviously

Course, 5 minutes later they`ll change their prices, but hey, what can you do?

Good luck with it tho...

Hi Guys,

Please be gentle this is my first thread!

Really need expert, independant advice.
I have a shop which has two electric meters one is for the lighting/ power sockets, the other is for night storage units.