Discuss Conduit R1+R2 in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi guys looking for some advice I'm working in an old property with conduit fed ring mains and lights. I've got a full street of these to test so looking to see the best way to go about it . There is no seperate cpc ran in to any of the switches or lights. The integrity of the conduit is perfect when I do a wander lead test at all the points (0.40) I've also did a visual in loft space and anywhere I can see it . What's the best way to satisfy the inspection and testing requirements. I was thinking R2 test then earth fault loop impedance test on these circuits . A seperate 16mm earth runs from conduit behind board onto the main Earthing terminal. I've not seen this setup since I was an apprentice so brain is a bit fuzzy regarding the parallel paths effecting readings so don't know if R1 + R2 is what others would do. How would you guys go about testing it.

with conduit used as cpc, i'd record R2 readings. the schedule of tests asks for either R1+R2 or R2. obviously with live tests Zs etc. as well.

Agree, record R2.
If, as you say, the conduit integrity is perfect, 0.4 ohms R2 seems a bit high. I would think it would be near enough zero, at points near CU at least. Even through out, maybe.