Discuss confused.. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

terry198920

I am only a trainee ( so don't bite too much) a friend of mine called out british gas to fix his boiler.. Whilst he was there he checked the electrics.. Said the earth loop was greater than 200 ohms on the ring main and they should get a spark out asap.. So he asked could i pop down and and have a look before they call in a spark ( to see if i could see what the issue was ) it is a TT supply as far as i can tell with a wylex board rewireable fuses with separate RCD installed.. Tested the board.. 0.28ohms..PFC was 0.956kA.. Tested the rcd at 1/2.. X1 and x5.. All within limits.. Tested the socket where the PLUMBER checked and here is where i get lost.. Earth fault loop impedance Test with a megger1730.. 1st test setting was L-L 0.60.. L-N was 0.60 and the setting l-pe was 800ohms.. Is the setting L-PE the important reading yes? And whats the outcome..

hang on. go back to basics. start with a Ze. on a TT,

What do you mean by zs at the board? with main earth disconnected and test between live neutral earth? I always assumed ze was at origin.. Zs furthest point on a lighting point ect..

Last edited by a moderator:
What do you mean by zs at the board? with main earth disconnected and test between live neutral earth? I always assumed ze was at origin.. Zs furthest point on a lighting point ect..

Forget the earthing arrangements for a moment, if you carry out a Ze at a board and get 0.28ohms and then a Zs on a circuit fed by that board and get 800ohms then the problem is with that circuit isn't it.

All that being said, double check your readings at the board, I find it very unlikely that you will have an Ra (Ze) of 0.28ohms on a domestic TT system unless there are a good few earth rods installed or it is linked to steel reinforcement within the foundations.