Discuss Connecting energy monitors with Solar PV in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

BrummyGit

I'm not an electrician, but I'm hoping that you can help me work out how to solve a problem that's causing me headaches and sleepless nights. I recently had a Solar PV system installed in my home. For background information it's one of the free "rent-a-roof" schemes where the supplier gets the Feed In Tarrif and I get to use the electricity generated, with surplus exported to the grid. This also means that the supplier has satisfied their needs with a generation meter that they read via the mobile phone network.

In order to really benefit from the system I need to be able to monitor my generation and compare that to my consumption at any point in time, and ideally I'd like to keep history so I see how I'm doing. This means that I can then decide to switch on the dishwasher etc. Currently I'm using cost effective energy monitors from CurrentCost that clamp onto a single conductor and measure current flow, but not direction. I know these aren't the most accurate, but they are good enough for my needs and allow me to record the consumption on my laptop.

The Solar PV is connected to the consumer unit via a 16amp MCB on the non-RCD side, as are the house lights on a single bus bar from the 100a main switch. I have 1 30ma RCD feeding everything else via the RCD protected bus bar. My consumer unit is full and located in a full meter cupboard.