Discuss Convector Heater Repair in the Electrical Appliances Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Samuel W

DIY
Reaction score
Hello, I wonder if anyone could advise on a repair of a convector heater which I am attempted. I am a complete DIY/electrics novice so simple explanations particularly appreciated!

It is a typical convector heater which has two elements and two buttons (with a light on each) labelled 750W and 1250W, with both labelled 2000W if on together. But only one of the elements/lights (I think it is the 750W one if I remember rightly) ever comes on when the button is pressed -- and it only works occasionally, often when I turn it on (even from completely off and cool for days) it doesn't work at all, not even the one button (and its light doesn't go on either when the heater doesn't work). This is with the thermostat on max (and having heard the click at a lower thermostat setting, suggesting the thermostat connectors are working?)

I disassembled it and checked electrical continuity with a multimeter (first time I have used a multimeter) and there seems to be electrical continuity throughout -- the only time electrical continuity stops is if both switches are in the off position. Strangely, if either of the switches are on, there is continuity from the live prong of the plug to the end of both of the heating elements (one is fed from the switch by a red wire, the other by a white wire; one has a blue wire emerging which goes straight out to the plug, the other has a blue wire emerging which goes back up to the switches)-- whereas I would have expected each switch to relate to one heating element and the continuity to only be in one element if only one switch is on.

There is a thermal cut-off halfway along the elements (no thermal fuse) but it seems to click up and down appropriately. But I have just reassembled it and it still isn't turning on at all from cold (despite electrical continuity from the live to the neutral prongs of the plug).