Discuss Convert single light 2 switch system to single switch 2 lights in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
hi,

Sorry for the confusing title! My brother in law is a joiner and is splitting my garage in 2 over the next few days, the front half will remain a garage and the back half that I can access from the house will be a snug/kids den/tv room.... at the moment I have a strip light in the garage with a 2 way switch, one switch in the house next to the door into the garage and another at the front of the garage just inside the garage door. I want to have the switch that’s in the house, wired to a ceiling rose in the new snug bit and the existing strip light switched from the remaining switch in the garage. Can this be done without retiring everything? It’s a new build house only about 5 or 6 years old so won’t have ancient wiring! I’m competent with electrics as (a long time ago now and several career changes!) I studied electrical and electronic engineering. I never did much in the way of wiring a house or not that I can remember, but I’m still confident around electricity and now how to stay safe...

hi,