Discuss Crabtree RCCB's in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

T

Torris

Hi
This is my first time on a forum and this is my problem.

I carried out some testing on a domestic premises, the consumer unit main switch is a Crabtree RCCB 2 pole rated at 80A with 100mA trip.
I carried out an RCD test at a random socket with my tester set to 100mA and tested on both cycles on 1/2I with no trip 1I with no trip and 5I with a trip at 6.3ms strangely it is the first time i have worked on a RCCB. My first instinct is to condem the RCCB, but as Im not 100% sure could anyone give there opinion, Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance

Torris

Another forum, i saw a similar problem. When the guy plugged a class II radio into the circuit and retested at a different socket the RCD tests were ok! (dont know if was crabtree)

Is your tests the same at each socket, and what results do you get if you go directly to the output of the RCCB?

Oh, and the other thing, i believe i am right in saying the x5 IdeltaN test is ONLY applicable at 30mA or less, so you should not be testing a 100mA on x5 anyway!

Firstly no 5x test on 100mA (the fluke wont even let you do the test)

Secondly a 100mA rccb/rcd shouldnt be used to reduce the risk of electric shock (412-06-02) as it doesnt offer protection against direct contact unlike a 30mA would so shouldnt be used for socket circuits.

100mA & higher are normally used for protection against fire in the event of earth leakage, or used on TT systems as main switch (if rcbo's are used on individual circuits) or the 100mA S type time delay are used on split load boards.

So in answer to your question I'd check you are testing at correct range (S type or not) then do as Tont58 said test the rccb in isolation from all circuits, if it fails again swap it out.