Discuss Data Cables Running in ACO Drain in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I am a surveyor and we are currently managing some refurb works on a property.

This property has an old Clipsal lighting system and a wired network installed in the past. This isn’t specifically electrical, so I don’t know if I am allowed data questions in here. I am sure there is plenty of experience that might help and more so than a data only forum.

Part of this system has data cables running in an ACO Drain around the front of the building. These cables are in a black uPVC trunking which is not joined properly. The cables (I think cat 5) are standard indoor and so are not for outdoor use and I do not want them in an ACO as they are likely to perish quickly. I should add the client is renting this property so it needs to last without major disruption.

I want to move the cables out of the ACO and fix them at low level onto the brickwork and I have a number of conversations with electricians and data companies and nobody can agree on the best way forward.

As far as I see there are 3 options…

Option 1 – Leave in Place

It has been suggested I just leave them but I do not want to do this as it think it bad practice and with significant downpours they will affectively be sat in water.

Option 2 – Cut and Feed through Trunking

This option will involve cutting the cables where they leave the building, taking them to the where they re-enter the building. Fix a new outdoor conduit/ducting to the wall and pull them back though until they re-enter the building where they can be re-joined.

My issue with this option is risk. The cables are taking data a fairly long way and any connections will limit data flow. There is also the risk that something might not work afterwards and no contractors seem keen to take the risk which will mean expense.

Option 3 – Move without cutting and sheath in something