Discuss De-rating a ring circuit in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi, I'm not an electrician but have worked as a mate and I'm studying in my own time - I know my limitations. I watch a lot of videos (John Ward and others) and have come across an issue I don't understand. An 80A 30mA RCCD has 4 Type B 32A MCBs hanging off it and the sparky (
) talks about "de-rating" the rings to 20A to "free up space". I understand how maximum demand and selectivity works but can someone please explain what this experienced and competent sparky is trying to do? How can you de-rate a circuit without removing a load?

His thinking is probably that the 4x32A mcb’s will total 128A if fully loaded. This would then be above the 80A rating of the RCD. I would be more concerned about the lack of additional protection on the shower room lighting.

I don’t understand how deratong a 32A to A 20A would free up space.
Maybe by derating he thinks he can use more amp age else where. This is not true.

Yes it would limit what load you can put on the circuit but in reality you would plug in exactly the same appliances with exactly the same load.

Ive written this post without looking at video. I’ll watch it now to see if it sheds any light.

Just watched it.

Yes derating those Mcb’s will not magically mean less load.
A pointless exercise.

Well spotted keen pensioner.

What I will say Is having all those sockets on one residual current device is not good design. Saying that, it was acceptable when the board was originally installed but not now.
To then decide to put a shower circuit on the same residual current device, that is not good design to the current regs.