Discuss decision to make in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

J

jamie s

i have been asked to install a rewire into a house including a new consumer unit. the customer would also like power run to a shed which i have never done before. my instinct says i would need swa as he doesnt want high or underground cable. it is only to supply a shed c.u for sockets and lights so am intrigued to find out my options from you professionals! any advice appreciated

i have been asked to install a rewire into a house including a new consumer unit. the customer would also like power run to a shed which i have never done before. my instinct says i would need swa as he doesnt want high or underground cable. it is only to supply a shed c.u for sockets and lights so am intrigued to find out my options from you professionals! any advice appreciated

and how many points will be in this shed?.....whats the intended use?.....whats the earthing arrangements here?....any water or gas extrainious conductive parts in this shed?.......check both earthing and bonding arrangements here first and upgrade/replace to the 17th edition standard before doing any work here....how longs the run from the origin of supply for this shed and the shed itself?....

3 sockets, 2 lights, man shed so prob radio and power tools, no water or gas but will double check. 10m run from supply to shed and 3m l, 2m h, 1m d shed.

so i would suggest a 16A MCB (for the outlets).....and a 6A MCB for lighting......need to know the earthing arrangements though mate as this will determine whether an s type RCD is required (for discrimination purposes)......

Oh lord... on your marks.....

But seriously. nothing to be afraid of. Plenty of guides around.. Check with your scheme provider and see what they advise..