Discuss Differing advice on FIT when adding more panels. in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

dic2dic2

Hi
I am not an electrician but a solar enthusiast. I need some help before I invest more.-Please

On Jan 10th 2011 I had installed 3.8 KW system installed and therefore receive 43 p a KW

I would like to add 2 kw on another roof--same postal address.

Some electricity suppliers say the 43p continues and the new bit will get 43 or 21 depending on the government ruling.

My supplier -EDF say it is an add on and therefore over 4 KW and FIT drops immediately to 38 pence/ KW OR if the government win the appeal down to 16.8 pence.

Now 38p x 5.8 kw is fine --43 x 5.8 kw ongoing better--43 x 3.8kw and 21 x 2w acceptable --but 16.8 x 5.8 dire.

I hope my posting makes sense--I am sure I am not the only one in a stew.

Thanks

Dick

edf are right, but you're interpreting them wrong. The existing system will be unaffected, but the it is taken into account when calculating which fit band the second system should be placed into. ie your 3.8kWp system will get 43.3p, your new system 16.8p unless you move quick and the court are nice to us.

eta - this is pretty much definitive btw as I just took advice from Ofgem on precisely this subject.

Last edited:
Gavin does that mean that at the original install by installer should have made a DNO application for 3.8kw?

(This is actually a South East 2.66 on one SMA inverter and 1.140 on the SW roof with a smaller Schuco.

It has done pretty well -considering shading from next doors obscene extension we got 3500kw in Essex last year.

Should I leave well alone? At 43 p plus inflation?_ I could add one more Schuco 190 very cheaply--making 3.9 KW --if so will my FIT go down !!!

Thanks

DD