Discuss Digital phase converter build? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all
I am looking at three phase conversion options for my workshop I have looked at rotary converters
and I have also looked at static and digital conversion options what I'm wondering is does anyone have a digital converter from the only manufacturer that makes them. Drives Direct is the name.
If so how well does it work and what is your experience with it?
I'm looking at getting 3 phase from the grid (extremely expensive) and also looking at getting a rotary converter with digital phase balance. from the USA.
The only other option I can come up with is to design and build a digital phase converter on my own, i have a lot of experience in electrics and electronics but cant figure out exactly how the digital phase converter works. The basis of it must be a VSD with Harmonic filter in front, and Sine Wave filter on the output side. And a bank of capacitors on the output to take the start current. But apart from that im not sure what else. And those bits alone in no way could justify the cost they charge. Seeing one would help or any ideas any of you may have.

Son in law manufactures 5 axis CNC machines, and buys in single to three phase digital convertors from China all the time. Not particularly expensive, as far as I know.
Another way you could manage is to set up a three phase motor running on single phase with a capacitor (Steinmetz circuit), then once this is running, powering nothing, you can take power from its three terminals to feed another motor of equal or less power. If you have these two motors running, you can then run a third with a power equal to the sum of the first two, and so on.

Son in law manufactures 5 axis CNC machines, and buys in single to three phase digital convertors from China all the time. Not particularly expensive, as far as I know.