Discuss Dissertation about the 'Sharing' of Energy in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am an undergraduate student at Newcastle University London and I am currently writing my dissertation about the peer-to-peer trading of energy (the concept of the sharing economy, e.g. Uber or Airbnb). I am exploring how willing energy producers are to sell/'share' their excess energy via digital platforms and what their motivations would be for that. It would be a great help and appreciated if you fill out my questionnaire which does not take longer than five minutes.

This is the link to it: Energy Providers' Motivations to Share - https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/DYB39P8

Thank you for your time!
smile.gif

Is the idea that instead of for instance my brother-in-law selling the surplus output from his 5kWpeak energy system to the grid for pittance he could sell it for (pittance plus some) to an energy consumer over an agreed/contracted period facilitated by an on-line multi-user energy market? Is this a small scale idea as I have just suggested or a medium to large scale one too/only? In other words who are the participants in the market you want to create?

I'll have a go at the survey on his behalf.

Last edited:
Just being pedantic, neither Uber nor Airbnb are "sharing" anything. Both are just long established trades with the addition of "via the internet" and false claims that they are doing sonething new. In the case of Uber, they keep finding out in court (when found guilty of ignoring the laws for that trade) that their business is nothing more than a traditional mini-cab office with better computers & software.