Discuss [DIY][First Post] How to sequentially use 3powerbanks? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello, I am a newbie to the forum and this is my 1st post.

We have a small project where we need to place an industrial ruggedized cell phone (this is a Samsung XCover phone, with 2800mAh battery) at a worksite. This work site is un-manned and do not have any electrical source. This project is for 5 days. The phone is there for 5days to get the surrounding Bluetooth low energy reading from several BLE devices in the proximity (these are 5meters to 8meters away, fairly near, not far away). The phone also is constantly turned on (it does not turn off) as it is needed to send DATA (LTE Data via the SIM card inside the phone).

The problem we face is that the inbuilt 2800mAh battery won't last beyond 1 day. There are no electrical source at the site , and there is nobody there to charge the phone.

However, we can get 2 or 3 or even 4 powerbanks. Each Powerbank has a capacity of 20000mAh. We probably can buy bigger capacity ones, rated at 30,000mAh. Currently, we connect the phone to one of the powerbank (20,000mAh) and I think this just saps the juice out and is completely wiped out in 2days. Is there a way to get the capacity from 2 , 3 or 4 of these powerbank and improvise a method where charging is done sequentially (when one of the power bank is depleted?)

The purpose is to get the phone to work for 5days.

Generally most phones charge from a 5V USB power source so you could get a DC-DC converter and run it off a 12V motorcycle or car battery?

Is there any window, etc, that you could use a solar panel for some charging source?

Reply to [DIY][First Post] How to sequentially use 3powerbanks? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

OFFICIAL SPONSORS