Discuss DIY lighting in garage in the New Member Introductions area at ElectriciansForums.net

Super_resin

EF Member
Hi,
I am not a qualified electrician, but have been asked to install downlights in a garage by a family friend.
There is currently a flouresent tube in there, which be used as the starting point for the series of lights.
I just want to know as a non qualified electrician I can carry out this work as a diyer in someone else’s house, as I am not changing the circuit? Or would this need to be signed off?

Murdoch

Regular EF Member
Do you have any test equipment?

Strima

Electrician's Arms
Walk away, anything goes wrong you will be liable no matter how good a friend you have.

Murdoch

Regular EF Member
There is currently a flouresent tube in there, which be used as the starting point for the series of lights.
as I am not changing the circuit? Or would this need to be signed off?
But you are changing the circuit ........ its not a like for like unit swap.

Spoon

Forum Mentor
You will have to give them a Minor Work Certificate for the install.
As above, you are liable if anything goes wrong with the circuit, so if there is a fire due to the wiring then you pay for all the damages.

buzzlightyear

please let me back in to the prison cell.
Electrician's Arms
why do you think you can change the lighting in the garage .
if it was me your friend. I would say go on knock you self out .;)

GMES

Hairy and proud
Staff member
Admin
Hi super resin and welcome to the forum, as others are saying you will need to test and cert the work as you are altering the circuit , if it was a straight swap I would say crack on but with what you propose it needs doing right and you need to cover yourself.

OP
S

Super_resin

EF Member
This is not a change or new circuit as it is already there. I am just adding lights to the already wired circuit. It is a simple job, but I just want to know am I allowed to do this as a diyer?

Murdoch

Regular EF Member