Discuss DIY Question - Splitting off bathroom lights mains in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashielli

DIY
Reaction score
Hi all!

First up - I'm not an electrician, this is purely DIY. I have a little bit of electrical knowledge (degree in computer networking) but I'm not a qualified electrican or even one in training - please be aware of that when replying :).

So the situation is - My bathroom has a light, an extractor (which comes on / goes off immediately when the ceiling pull-switch is pulled; it's not on a timer), and the extractor also has an isolator switch.

My bathroom was not wired with power/shaver points and I'd like to add power to the bathroom, as safely as possible obviously.
My first thought was to simply run some 3-core mains from before the light switch (pull switch) and put that into a waterproof box.
The issue is that I cannot figure out how the wiring here actually works in terms of what lead goes to where.

I've looked inside the pull-switch rose and while earth terminates inside the switch box, live and neutral go through a simple switch to break the circuit. I'm concerned that my original plan will just leave mains on to the light/extractor all of the time and I'm trying to figure out which cables actually go where so that I can figure out the best place to run a mains lead from.

Ideally I want the mains power that I'm running to be "always on", not affected by the switch or isolator, whilst letting the light/extractor fan still function as intended.

I've attached a diagram of what I can currently see (solid lines) and some guesses at what is going on "behind the scenes" (dotted lines) as well as before/after diagrams.
I've also attached a photo of the inside of the light switch - the only "exposed" part of the mains here that I can easily get to