Discuss DIYer query re whether a couple of kitchen/bathroom jobs are notifiable in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

lfo

Hi, I'm not an electrician but I have a (hopefully) quick query whether a couple of small kitchen/bathroom jobs are notifiable?

1) There's currently a built-in and wired-in fridge and freezer in the kitchen. If the wires for the built-in units are converted into normal plug sockets for new fridge and freezer, is that notifiable (not sure whether that constitutes an addition to a circuit, which in a kitchen I think would be notifiable, or a like-for-like job as it won't result in the creation of extra power points, which I think wouldn't be notifiable?)

2) replacing a ceiling pull switch in a bathroom (pretty sure this won't be notifiable but as it's a bathroom I wanted to check!)

Thanks in advance for any thoughts/info you can give

Not taking the Michael, it was a genuine query, seeing as "installing an additional socket from an existing circuit" is notifiable, then not sure why my query met with such derision?

Never mind (sigh) I guess I know what standard of customer service to expect from electricians.......

The kitchen work will not be notifiable after the new financial year starts due to changes to part pee
Not taking the Michael, it was a genuine query, seeing as "installing an additional socket from an existing circuit" is notifiable, then not sure why my query met with such derision?

Never mind (sigh) I guess I know what standard of customer service to expect from electricians.......

Probably not, but you will still have to comply with the requirements of BS7671 . IE confirm disconnection times for the circuits and ensure the bathroom switch is outside, and/or complies with the zones in the bathroom.

Changing an SFCU for a socket is not considered "like for like", even though it does not entail alteration to the circuit wiring.