Discuss Do I join a competent person scheme? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

tafftreb

Hi guys, this is my first post. I have recently completed C&G 2393, and was hoping to build experience before I considered joining any Competent person scheme.
I have however been told that City and Guilds will be changing the course, and if I don't join up to a scheme by April then I would have to do another course, or I will not be deemed competent enough to join the scheme.
My initial plan was to concentrate on minor work, until confident.
I am very confused on what to do and am in no position at present to even consider applying.
Can someone please clarify on what part of the course is changing and what the implications of this is, and is it even worth paying hundreds of pounds each year when I have very little experience? (Past course this week)
Many thanks

As far as I know, city & guilds dont run a compotent persons scheme. They may run a compotent person qualification??? The three mane scheme providers are Elecsa, Napit & NICEIC. I would get some experiance before you join one of these though.

Not quite sure what your talking about with the city & guilds thing though, as I said earlier I think that may be a qualification, unless city & guilds have indeed joined the scam providers!!lol

Jay

Ideally, you will want an NVQ, which is C&G2356 on site practical assessment, including a portfolio, with C&G2357 or the older 2330 college theory. This should take a minimum of 2 years.
Once achieved you would then want to look at 2392 and after a couple of years experience 2394 and 2395

The 2393 is a short course qualification relating to the appreciation of electrical work done under building control in domestic type properties.

Hi guys, this is my first post. I have recently completed C&G 2393, and was hoping to build experience before I considered joining any Competent person scheme.