Discuss Do I need a refresher course and which one? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

gman67

Hi,

I am french and have lived 4 years in uk. Although I am a qualified electrician and practised 8 years in France, I haven't worked as such in uk yet but seriously think going back to this line of work;

Do I need a refresher course to obtain a job or it is simply advised to?

I have obviously heard about the city and guilds 17th edition, do I need this?

What about the EAL 17th edition?

I have to admit that I am a bit lost there :confused:

Could anyone (who knows very well the topic) please advise me on what type of exam I need to work as automatic door engineer or industrial maintenance electrician?

thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi,

I am french and have lived 4 years in uk. Although I am a qualified electrician and practised 8 years in France, I haven't worked as such in uk yet but seriously think going back to this line of work;

Do I need a refresher course to obtain a job or it is simply advised to?

I have obviously heard about the city and guilds 17th edition, do I need this?

What about the EAL 17th edition?

I have to admit that I am a bit lost there :confused:

Could anyone (who knows very well the topic) please advise me on what type of exam I need to work as automatic door engineer or industrial maintenance electrician?

thanks

Hi,

it depends what you want to do. If you go industrial only G&G2382 (17th) is a definite yes 'cos the health and safety thing is big here in the UK.
If you go domestic the 17th is a minimum, C&G2391 is desirable if you don't have much experience in inspecting and testing.
If you have served an apprenticeship in France contact UKNARIC they compare all your qualifications to UK standard (bit pricy though:( )

Hope this will help you a bit

Hi Steph,