Discuss doing my own work in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

geffg

hi, i am looking to get extension on my house, and wondering what to do about elec works. i am an electrician and the work only involves another light and extra 2 sockets in extension. only asking does anyone ask for a certificate etc once work done? not had any building work done to own house or been involved in domestic work involving building regs etc as always worked for companys doing commercial work, so dont know if would be asked for a cert for work done.

A light and extra 2 sockets in extension sounds like a new circuit and this is definitely a notifiable job. You need to inform your LABC before commencing your work. Good luck!

if the work does not involve a new circuit, then it's aMWC and not notifiable. only if it's new circuit/s.

A light and extra 2 sockets in extension sounds like a new circuit and this is definitely a notifiable job. You need to inform your LABC before commencing your work. Good luck!

considering he is looking at building an extension on his property LABC will be involved any way!!! :)

and 1 light and 2 sockets can be extended from current installation so only MWC
but ensure all bonding is in place!!

the extension is only a bedroom. the garage sticks out from house so only extending on top of this. yes it will just be extending lighting and 2 sockets from existing, so looks like will only need mwc. as im altering lighting circuit i take it i will have to swap circuit over to rcd side of board! just a bit of nuisance to get cert for such little work. only just started with new company who are based in scotland so all our certs go up there to be signed off etc never to be seen again.

if its not notifiable does that mean i wont need to get a cert?

ALL ELECTRICAL WORK NEEDS A CERT...!!