Discuss Doing work without a qualification in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

thereballer

Hi all.

I'm an experienced electrician that can pretty much wire a house etc. The down fall is I do not have any qualifications. In today's world people say it is experience over qualification.

I'm self employed but in the computer world as in I repair hardware. I hate it and wish to go back to what I love: electrical work.

Can I take on small jobs such as adding extra sockets, light switches etc in someone's home without any qualifications (for the time being)? Yes I would form a ltd company and get me public liability insurance. Currently I bought the BS 7671 17th edition book (Green) and I'm going through it but I need to make money while I work. I need someone to tell me if I can do small jobs until I take the £150 exam.

Thanks!

Well in order to do work in folks homes, you need to be ​competent.​ If anything goes wrong and you end up in court, qualifications may go a long way to prove that you are. In order to do notifiable work, you realistically need qualifications in order to join a Part P scam. You could carry out small non-notifiable jobs so long as you are doing proper testing and issuing certs, but I'd definitely get a few bits of paper under your belt ASAP.

Sorry, but you are not an experienced electrician you've no qualifications, you can't even do the most basic (wire a house) so leave the electrical work to the experts. Another wind up I fear lol

Sorry, but you are not an experienced electrician you've no qualifications, you can't even do the most basic (wire a house) so leave the electrical work to the experts. Another wind up I fear lol

A morning laugh ;) I am well experienced ( 4 years) with other qualifications but not from this country. Yes I'm not experienced in this country but I assume the standard is the same.