Discuss Domestic Electrical Issue - Live Volts in House but Not Getting Shocks. Any Help Appreciated in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

R Yates

Hi All, firstly to introduce myself I'm not an electrician but was hoping to get a bit of advice on an electrical issue I have. Basically we wanted to get a boiler service but the plumber would not touch the boiler as he said we have electrical volts running through the house (radiators, sink, boiler, plug sockets etc). There is a link to the videos below to explain this.

Dropbox - Electrics Issue - https://www.dropbox.com/sh/umynb3ta0j7sdo4/AABwsQkPwfBwDvdoe7LrtMpXa?dl=0

We are not getting any shocks and apparently it is running through all circuits in the house. Every electrician we have talked to is baffled by it. I was wondering whether anyone has ever come across this and what advice you may have on how to proceed/what may be causing it?

Many thanks in advance as I appreciate this is a first post.

Shame you didn't put up a video of an electrician investigating. I would set absolutely no credence in what I just saw as a test. Could be as low as 12v with those testers. And if every electrician is baffled by it well I can't believe you have spoken to an electrician.

Hi RY and welcome to the forum !
Sorry you are having problems and I support the previous posts that it needs a proper test.

What type of supply coming in? TT or TN-C-S? I would be checking out the earth back at the main DB... it suggests to me that there is no earth connected. If TT is there an earth rod, if so is it giving a good earth reading? If TN-C-S is there a earth cable to the terminal provided by the rec?

@ OP.ifyou are the right side of munchester ( i.e. the west ) it's just within my theatre of operations.