Discuss Domestic wiring in France? in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

johnstantine

Hi all.
I'm due to undertake the re-wire of a two bed property in France. I have no previous experience of French wiring. I would very much appreciate any advice or information on the French way of doing things. Also, any suggestions of guidance text would be very useful.

Cheers.

I live in France and am registered and insured here as an electrician. If there is anything specific you wish to know, PM me and I will let you have my contact details, we can then speak on the phone and it may well be easier than via e-mail

I live in France and am registered and insured here as an electrician. If there is anything specific you wish to know, PM me and I will let you have my contact details, we can then speak on the phone and it may well be easier than via e-mail

Victor, many many thanks.
Will pm soon.

Just thought I would check to see how things are going as I have not heard from you.

Kind regards
Victor

Bonjour Victor.

I did try to pm you but said you were not accepting pm's.

I have been to France and installed first fix.
On arrival discovered there was no existing cu, just a plastic jb where all final circuits were connected to incoming tails from a mere 30A supply/500mA rcd.

I have installed first fix using plastic flexible conduit and singles. The supplier we sourced material from sold rolls of pre-wired plastic conduit coming in various sizes.

I have installed a many-ways board with protection split between 30mA type A and 30mA type AC RCD's and double pole circuit breakers.

The existing earth electrode was inaccessible and gave about 300 ohm reading. I Installed two new electrodes and main earthwire achieving a 100 ohm reading in dry conditions.
The research I carried out suggested that line and neutral should be red and blue, switched lives orange, two-way strappers as black and green/yellow for earth.

I used a similar theme to England for all bonding.