Discuss Down/spot wiring in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello..im new here:) im in my first year as an adult trainee and with the current situation have been working alot on my own, my work is being checked over by a qualified spark...anyway more to the point..

Im currently doing a house rewire... So far im doing the lighting...ceiling pendants.

Im moving on to the kitchen which is downlights, im taking the power the switch..the kitchen isnt the last room in the circuit...

where does power cable come from for the next room?

Sorry i am still learning
Diagrams would be amazing

Thanks

Hello..im new here:) im in my first year as an adult trainee and with the current situation have been working alot on my own, my work is being checked over by a qualified spark...anyway more to the point..

Im currently doing a house rewire... So far im doing the lighting...ceiling pendants.

Im moving on to the kitchen which is downlights, im taking the power the switch..the kitchen isnt the last room in the circuit...

Sorry i am still learning
Diagrams would be amazing

Thanks
From the plast point you have taken the live pair to, in this case the switch.

Just out of curiosity, when doing re-wires do any of you guys now put a neutral to the switch for future changes to the switch, that need a neutral. Or is it still the norm not to add one.

Just out of curiosity, when doing re-wires do any of you guys now put a neutral to the switch for future changes to the switch, that need a neutral. Or is it still the norm not to add one.
Used to loop in and out at the switch quite a bit, mainly cos of down lights or such luminaries.

The live from last light and live to next next normally go into Common on a switch, but some switches dont mark them as Common, or C... just L1 or something.