Discuss Earth bonding - checking safety for my mum in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So, I live a long way from my mother (8/9) hours... And so I only get to see her intermittently. She has had a fair bit of work done by whom I believe to only be a 'handyman', who is also her friend so it's a sensitive subject to bring up, and I want to ensure if I am right to be concerned before questioning his work.

She has had both a bathroom and kitchen installed by the bloke, and I will be fair, aesthetically, in those rooms, he has done a stellar job, to a high standard, however I have become a bit concerned about the plumbing, and potentially electrical work.

Essentially, I was under the understanding, and also indeed have fitted on my own installs, earth bonding to all radiators and copper pipework. I am not a proponent of mixing copper and pushfit, and call me old school but I would have got the torch out and used copper fittings. However my concern here is he shouldn't have done these installations anyway (though I've not been able to find a way to check if he has part P), and as such there seems to be no earth bonding on the bathroom or kitchen tap pipework, or radiators.

Then, when tracing pipework to find a stopcock I open her airing cupboard to find this:
Image of airing cupboard pipework

Now, to me it seems a bit heath Robinson, however excusing the aesthetics of the pipework, is this allowed? We have electric auxiliary water pumps to the shower and hot water (bungalow), all hooked up with a mixture of earth bonded (original) water tank and pipes, and copper sections and flexis which are not bonded?

To me this does not seem right, I went to a lot of effort (probably went overkill) on my last bathroom, and ensured everything I would touch that was fed by copper, was earth bonded. Couldn't these sections theoretically float?