Discuss Earth fault in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

L

luem

I have a house on an estate of 8 houses in Cyprus. The houses are modern and the electrics a good standard. The electricity to the houses is supplied alternately on 2 of the phases, the 3rd phase being reserved for street lighting. Each house has a box outside in which is the meter, 80amp fuse and a 63 amp DP isolator switch. Inside the house is a consumer unit housing the MCBs and a 63 amp RCCD (all Hager). My RCCD trips out for no apparent reason, at random times. The wiring from the CU onwards has been checked and there is no earth fault. I think the cause is an earth fault in one of the houses on the same phase. Could this be so? (I'm not an electrician!!) If it is, could I safely replace the RCCD with a 63 amp DP isolator switch? I have one outside socket and that is in an IP56 enclosure with an RCCD built in.

i wouldnt think another houses fault would trip your RCD.

when you/whoever checked the wiring im guessing you did a quick RCD test to see what it brought up?

what appliances do you have plugged in when it trips? try taking all appliances out and seeing if it trips over the course of a few hours or day or whatever

Thanks for the replies.

Penance - what do you mean by faulty unit?

BoroRobbo - The trips can occur anytime, twice in 15 minutes, then days before the next!!

When the sparks were working on the next house but one, trying to locate a fault, mine tripped out about 3 times while they were working.

BoroRobbo - forgot to say, an electrician tested mine. Unplugged everything then used something like a Megger to test all the circuits.