Discuss EICR For Landlords in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi
I am a retired electrician , 17th and 2391
I own a tenanted property which will require an Eicr before April next year or sooner, if I have a change of tenant
I guess I am going to have to pay a registered company to do this, which is I really dont want to do
Which is crazy when I am more than capable,

Is there any way round this , or do I just have to bite the bullet ?

Cheers Phil

Hi
I own a tenanted property which will require an Eicr before April next year or sooner, if I have a change of tenant
I guess I am going to have to pay a registered company to do this, which is I really dont want to do

Cheers Phil

Good day Phil
My understanding is that the EICR will be required on change or renewal of tenancy or by April 2021 - whichever is first. It is also the case that the qualification for an EICR is that the person carrying out the testing/certification is suitably qualified and experienced rather than belonging to a CPS. May be worth looking that up. Other consideration though is insurance. I have Public Liability and Professional Indemnity Insurances to cover me should I get it work in a really big way. So I think you have to weight up the pros and cons and decide which is a best fit for you.

Best

Peter

Hi Phil,
Do a bit of reading on the 18th and what the differences from the 17th are, download a model form (There are some on here) and do it yourself. Your probably more competent than most who will be doing these tests anyway Just by having the 2391. Any questions just ask on here, I’m sure there are people who will give an old boy a nudge in the right direction on here if you have any queries ?

Hi Phil,