Discuss Electric shower case: short circuits (?) and RCBO in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello,

I have just posted in the Electrician's section one photo and two videos of what I believe to be a dangerous situation of short circuits happening within a shower unit.

You can see (also here attached):
1) Extensive burn marks on the plastic cover;
2) A vast amount of water leaking from the round attachment surrounding the hose, in the lower part of the unit;
3) A vast amount of water being trapped in the shower unit
In another video I hold it is possible to hear loud popping sounds at all times, when the shower is on.

I am not an electrician and I would greatly value feedback from qualified electricians on this matter.

I believe the visual evidence demonstrates that the presence of short circuits and therefore of a dangerous situation.
A qualified electrician, before replacing the unit, also described the situation as extremely dangerous.

However, the RCBO never tripped when popping sounds and internal burn marks were being generated, nor did it trip when the shower was leaking so abundantly.

My landlord denies even the possibility that the one described could be a dangerous situation, because the RCBO feature is in place.
According to them it did not trip because the water, with the cover on, was being contained and directed downwards rather than passing over the wiring. I am not an electrician but I think this is absurd.

My understanding is that the RCBO may not trip for a variety of reasons, making this potentially life-saving safety feature totally useless/invalid.
Am I right?

What do you make out of this visual evidence, and in particular do you agree that it demonstrates short circuits?

The unit has now been replaced.
What sort of inspection should be done in order to guarantee the absolute safety of the system, given it failed to trip under these conditions?

Many thanks for your very much valued opinions.