Discuss Electrical Assignment Questions Please Help in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

Steph1321

Hi I am currently studying a degree in hospitality management and for one of the modules I have to supply answers on some electrical questions I have struggled to find information on some of these questions and I was hoping someone would be able to help?

The questions I have are:

1. What sort of consumer unit/fuse box does your establishment have?
· Is it a ceramic fuse block with different capacity fuse wire fitted?
· Is it a fuse box with large fuse cartridges instead of fuse wire?
· An MCB (miniature circuit breaker) style of consumer unit?
What are the advantages and disadvantages of each type of consumer unit?
I havent been able to find much at all on the differnent types of unit.

1. There should also be an overall protection device that will trip all the power in case of a severe problem, this used to be an Earth Trip switch, but in modern consumer units it is an RCD.

· How does an RCD work?
· Why might an RCD trip out?
· Why is an RCD safer than a fuse?

2. What should you do if an RCD covering the kitchen keeps tripping out on a busy Saturday night?

2. What colour should the outside sheathing of a PVC ring main cable be under new regulations?

3. Why does a TV have 3 amp cartridge fuses in its plug but an electric fan heater have a 13 amp fuse?

4. What would happen if you got them the wrong way round?

Im really sorry there are so many but any help would be great!!!

same exact questions asked on a thread last week.

Commercial it has to be based on my place of employment which is a holiday park. thanks