Discuss Electrical connection tips needed. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

RyanP

Hello. My name is Ryan and I'm an electrical apprentice working in the UK and I need some advice and/or tips on avoiding loose connections.

Recently I have noticed one or two of my cable connections popped loose when it came to the testing and inspection part of a project and was wondering if anyone had any useful pointers to avoid this happening in future.

I always connect my cables as tight as possible and double over my cables where necessary but I still seem to get the odd problem here and there.

Keep in mind I am VERY new to the electrical trade having only started my apprenticeship 2 or 3 weeks ago so ANY tips no matter how small are very much appreciated.
I understand apprentices can sometimes be more of a burden than a help to electricians so becoming more confident and independent with my own connections will help work move faster and keep my colleges off my back :)

Am I worried too much about over tightening? Am I not stripping enough copper back? Give me your thoughts they are much appreciated :)

First of all,well done on being aware of the need for good connections
At your stage of training,that quality is much more important than how you perform practically

The best person to advize on the connections you are making is your tutor or mentor spark after inspecting them

i normally nip them up,then re-check again a few minutes later were possible. i find the thicker the cable for more likley the copper compresses and the connection comes loose.

Good luck.

Hi,
As Dansk says.