Discuss Electrical current flow after a spark in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

X

xeshu

Hi all,
I have a question regarding the flow of electrical current. I have an inverter or UPS if u will, that has an input and an output. The input comes from the mains supply and the output goes to different rooms powering up fans and lights.

Now here's my query: If there are sparks coming from joints or due to any other reason on the OUTPUT wire, is it possible that DUE to this spark, my ups get busted? Basically, can current flow backwards through the output in the ups circitry and damage it or if there's an output fuse, bust the fuse then?

I am no electrical engineer, so my little knowledge tells me that current flows in a specific direction, not
both ways on the same wire. So if theres a spark in the wire of the output, it should effect the applications attached TO the output wire, and not effect the ups which is generating the out put. Unlike the input, if there's an input surge, natrually it will effect the ups as thats input to it.

Am i Wrong? Try to imagine i am mixing wires in the output to develop the spark, should it effect the ups. In my view, the spark should effect the application attached to output as thats the direction of output, flowing OUTWORDS rather then ups (inwards). Please help! My friend who i am arguing with says otherwise, he is of the opinion that regardless of direction, a spark will cause aulfunction either way. I disagree.

Please clearify! Many Thanks :)

Xeshu

Depends on what is causing the spark.
If it is an earth fault and the oupput of the ups is not fused then the excessive current draw could damage the unit.
I would be very surprised if the output side is unfused though.
It may be an internal fuse in the UPS that protects the output, or (looking at the UPS under my desk) it may have a trip that needs reseting with a small push button.
(and I bashed my head on my desk to bring you this information)