Discuss Electrical engineer looking for practical knowledge in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a 26 year old Lighting Engineer with electrical background. As i started my career as a lighting engineer my practical knowledge on electrical aspects related to Industries, building design, Rail traction etc is minimal. I would like to learn more about the same as i am looking for a career change.

Many Thanks for accepting me in electricians forum.

I am looking forward for learning as well as sharing my experience.

Regards,
Sunesha Sunny

I have one to start with.
It is related to the inrush current and the cable size. I am aware of the fact that a cable would burn off depending on the current flowing through it in a duration of time. Do you have any references to understand the inrush current of different appliances and the preferred cable size depending on the inrush current . My concern is mostly related to LED luminaries.

You wouldn't normally size a cable according to inrush current, cables that are correctly sized according to their installation method and length etc can handle momentary inrush currents without overheating. Inrush current is only likely to have a bearing on your choice of protective device for that circuit ie you may need a C curve MCB to accomodate inrush as long as required disconnect times can still be met.

You wouldn't normally size a cable according to inrush current, cables that are correctly sized according to their installation method and length etc can handle momentary inrush currents without overheating. Inrush current is only likely to have a bearing on your choice of protective device for that circuit ie you may need a C curve MCB to accomodate inrush as long as required disconnect times can still be met.