• Welcome to the new forum. We're now hosted on ElectriciansForums.net rather than ElectriciansForums.co.uk - Chat about the forum upgrade by CLICKING HERE

Welcome to our Electrical Forum - We started out providing electrical advice just for the UK - But now we have specific advice for the USA too! - Register for free and share American Electrical Advice.

Discuss electrical engineer or electrician? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

piratebillybob

Hi

Ive got an electrical engineering apprenticeship \O/

im just wondering if i would be able to call myself an electrician or would i only be able to call myself an electrical engineer?

What do you call yourself? Can people who havent done the AM2 call themselves electricians?

I cant help but feel because I wont be doing the big bad AM2 and the 2391, im always going to be regarded as inferior even though I do industrial electrics for a living.

Many thanks if you could contribute anything positive :D

RWJ

8,400+ day wonder
Electrician's Arms
I call my self RWJ lololol

Don't think people would know what an Electrical Engineer is????

A

Adam W

I was under the impression that an electrical engineer was a more highly regarded profession than an electrician.
That said I wouldn't consider the title of 'electrical engineer' to automatically imply the qualifications of an electrician, just as I wouldn't expect anyone with a degree in IT or electronics to assume they can just assume an electrician's role at the drop of a hat.

Marnik

Regular EF Member
Not even NIC,NAPIT etc can make up their mind as to what is a qualified electrician!They recognise what they call "Competent Persons" So If i was you,seeing you work in the industry anyway, call yourselve what the hell you like.

Archy Styrigg

Forum Mentor
I have an Electrical Engineering qualification, but I only say I'm a Technician because I don't do any serious design work, or sit in office.

P