Discuss Electrical installation refence methods in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Good evening

I'm a trainee electrician and currently involved in some EICRs. Was just wondering about the installation methods codes, I've been looking through the 18th edition wiring regulations but can't seem to find the code for say twin and earth cable capped in a masonry wall and so was hoping someone could help simplify these differant codes. Am I right in thinking that you would just put the worst case scenario down rather than both references

Thanks

Reference Method C (clipped direct), for example, Installation Method 20 of Table 4A2 (single-core or
multicore cables on a wooden or masonry wall).
Cable mounted on a wooden wall so that the gap between the cable and the surface is less than 0.3 times the cable
diameter. Where the cable is fixed to or embedded in a masonry wall the current-carrying capacity may be higher.
NOTE 2: The term 'masonry' is taken to include brickwork, concrete, plaster and similar (but excluding thermally insulating
materials).
Page 384 refers to....

Good evening

I'm a trainee electrician and currently involved in some EICRs. Was just wondering about the installation methods codes, I've been looking through the 18th edition wiring regulations but can't seem to find the code for say twin and earth cable capped in a masonry wall and so was hoping someone could help simplify these differant codes. Am I right in thinking that you would just put the worst case scenario down rather than both references

Thanks

When you say 'involved in some EICRs' - are you working alongside someone?

Reply to Electrical installation refence methods in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hi all, I've recently had an oven installed by AO and afterwards I noticed in the installation instructions that the electrical connection needed...
Replies
Views