Discuss Electrical maintenance trainee looking for some advice please in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

joeldrummer79

Hi all....

Apologies if this has been posted in the wrong area, please move if it is...

I am a 36year old maintenance technician in an automated warehouse who has been working for my company for 18 months. Prior to that I have no electrical experience. I have learned lots in my time here electrically. So far I have a BTEC Level 3 in mechanical and electrical engineering and I want to gain some more formal qualifications electrically, preferably an NVQ Level 3 (work based only)

I am looking for an NVQ or similar in electrical maintenance and not installation. (saying that would installation be helpful to a maintenance engineer?)

What sort of course would be best for me in your opinion? I believe City and Guilds will not allow me on any courses until I have completed this that and the other.....

What is the best work based course for me to start on bearing in mind I have completed BTEC level 3... (Levels 1 and 2 may possibly be too easy?) Ideally I would like to jump straight in at level 3... Any suggestions guys?

Thanks

apart from regs. updates, the last time i was in college was 1970,and the course codes were in roman numerals, so can't help i'm afraid.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum Joel.

Have a word with your local college and see what options you have, you may also want to have a word with your employer and see if they will put you through the course. Good luck.

apart from regs. updates, the last time i was in college was 1970,and the course codes were in roman numerals, so can't help i'm afraid.

Thanks Paul, I have spoken to my employer and they will pay if I find a course. Level 3 Engineering maintenance (electrical) looks ideal but many colleges only do it as part of an apprenticeship which is no good for me.