Discuss Electrical Pump Advise sought for DIY in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

tony_park

DIY
Reaction score
Hi guys,

newbie here, please go easy!

I've got a query regarding an existing installation on a pumping station pump issue, which I'm hoping you can help with.

Our house is off mains sewage, and as such we have a sewage treatment plant, and a pumping station. In the pumping station we have 2 pumps, a new one installed last week, and one that has been in about a year. When the older pump starts to pump, due to the float being lifted, it trips the power to our garage circuit.

The power to the sewage and the pumping station should be protected by a 30a RCD, however when the pump is active, its tripping the power to the garage, rather than just tripping the RCD switch. Would anyone be able to advise on why this is happening, and how we can ensure that its the RCD in the garage that trips?

Thanks in advance
Tony

Hi guys,

I've got a query regarding an existing installation on a pumping station pump issue, which I'm hoping you can help with.

Our house is off mains sewage, and as such we have a sewage treatment plant, and a pumping station. In the pumping station we have 2 pumps, a new one installed last week, and one that has been in about a year. When the older pump starts to pump, due to the float being lifted, it trips the power to our garage circuit.

The power to the sewage and the pumping station should be protected by a 30a RCD, however when the pump is active, its tripping the power to the garage, rather than just tripping the RCD switch. Would anyone be able to advise on why this is happening, and how we can ensure that its the RCD in the garage that trips?

Thanks in advance
Tony

If you have two 30mA RCDs in series then there is no way to make one trip before the other. Indeed they both may trip.

Does the garage feed need RCD protection?

Hi,