Discuss Electrical separation (complicated) in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

Hoping for a little advice. I work in the Asbestos industry and we manufacture mobile decontamination units we follow the HSE 247 that states all units must comply with BS7671.

We have had a heads up that new regulations may adopt the use of electrical separation (assuming the use of isolation transformer) inside of our units and removing the need for an earth electrode to be installed at the unit. The worry is that old buildings supplying the unit may have a missing earth or a earth with potential that could transport to our chassis/earthed equipment.

Statement attached.

So how I see it is that the condition of an electrical supply from any buildings or site generators should not be the responsibility of the manufacturers and should be part of the initial site survey. In my opinion the running cable is the greatest potential risk as it can be exposed to heavy machinery, electrical separation inside of the mobile unit will not remove this risk. Running a cable with no earth could be a greater risk if the live conductor was exposed, for example steel wire armored cable has the added effect of causing a more likely short when damaged by using the protective earthed shielding to return the potential and trip the breakers. The risk from using a cable that has no earth connection would still pose a risk to operatives on the site if the cable did not have an earth wire.

At present If a fault occurred inside of the decontamination unit and no earth was present in the supply cable and the chassis was sitting with a dangerous potential, the RCD integral to the unit would operate in the event of an electric shock with a good chance the chassis corner steadies would be a better loop than the person touching it.