Discuss Electrical Testing 2391/2392 in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

jjrules2

Hi, I am a fully qualified electrician whose company also paid for me to get my 2392 qualification. I am looking into enrolling, when I have enough money as my company can't pay for this one, for the 2391.

I'm thinking of leaving my company as they don't have enough testing jobs and this is really what I want to be doing. If I left, how could I certify domestic homes? Can I do it with only the 2392? Where can I register and how much is it?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. If I can certify these, does it restrict me to just 230v? Not 3 phase?

for testing, you have to be competent ( note the spelling, glenn!!!). 2391 is just proof that you have the qualification. you could have 2391 and still be rubbish. it's actally 2395 now.

As mentioned you dont need any course to be 'competent' to test and certify peoples homes --- you just need knowledge of the testing process, experience of the installation to be tested and the ability to interpret the results of the testing!

What the course does for you is adds further weight behind your existing competency -- it doesnt qualify to test!. Also, on some commercial/industrial jobs there can be stipulations from the likes of insurance companys that you need to hold formal testing quals (e.g. what was the old 2391).

Ultimately you decide for yourself if you are competent to test but having the course behind you (2391 or 2394/5) wont do you any harm ....

As mentioned you dont need any course to be 'competent' to test and certify peoples homes --- you just need knowledge of the testing process, experience of the installation to be tested and the ability to interpret the results of the testing!