Discuss Electrics down to the garage in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

Toll

Hi everyone, I need to install 2 double sockets and 1 light in the garage 25 metres from the house. Would SWA 4mm 4 core cable do the job? (As I have got some 4 mm 4 core cable or have I got to have 3 core instead? Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

Do you think it will be okay? What concern do you have regarding this installation? Apart from the obvious of having to notify the Local Authority Building Control as per Part P of the Building Regulations ;)

The only concern I have is if the 4 core 4mm SWA cable can be used by a qualified electrician who I can employ to do the job. If the cable isn't correct I have time to get a different one. As you can tell I have no electrical knowledge and would expect the electrician to do the job legally and safely.
Thanks

I will give a straight answer lol ,
yes 4mm swa will be fine , the extra unused core ( you only need 3 ) will be left unconnected

I will give a straight answer lol ,
yes 4mm swa will be fine , the extra unused core ( you only need 3 ) will be left unconnected

And I will contradict you :lol:
it might not be fine depending on where it is being taken from and the voltage drop calcs. But yes, I agree there is no problem having a "spare" core.

The only person who can really answer the question is the electrician who will sign it off.

Hi everyone, I need to install 2 double sockets and 1 light in the garage 25 metres from the house. Would SWA 4mm 4 core cable do the job? (As I have got some 4 mm 4 core cable or have I got to have 3 core instead? Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
that would be fine to use for your requirements

Reply to Electrics down to the garage in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

HI folks, I'm on the management committee of the block of flats where I live. We've got ancient garage electrics and want to rewire. I have a...
Replies
Views