Discuss Electronic Domestic Instant Start Ballast Keeps Blowing in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

RS2OOO

Hello.

I'm no electrician (well, previously an auto-electrician but no expert on domestic electrics) and do have an electrician lined up to look into this problem next Week but would like to present the problem here for the sake of interest and for gaining some knowledge as to possible causes.

My Kitchen has 2 light fittings operating from the same supply through 2 switches.

Up until 1 year ago I had 3x 50w GU10's in each fitting.

I replaced them with a pair of (high end) fluorescent lamp fittings, 2 x PL-L 4 pin 36w tubes in each fitting.

Each fitting has an instant start electronic ballast powering the 2 tubes.

After 1 year (to the exact day!) one of the fittings flickered a few times and the 2 lamps went out and would not switch back on. Took the cover off, felt the ballast which was hot but not beyond the 70c operating temp.

The unit was exchanged under warranty.

Fitted the replacement unit and after around 30 mins of use the lamps went out (new bulbs), and would not switch back on. Replaced the bulbs (correct spec), but still would'nt work.

Now Realising the ballasts were failing I replaced the ballast and re-fitted. But again, 30 mins after use the lamps went out, this time both brand new Philips tubes were completely blackened at the ends.

So, ahead of calling in an electrician and to give him/her something to work from, I fitted new tubes and another new ballast (all correct spec etc) and put the fitting back up. Unfortunately the missus forgot and switched the light on, but this time the ballast had blown within 5 minutes and again both tubes were blackened at the ends.

The unit in question is the 2nd and final fitting in the loop, the first fitting from the same supply and using the same lamps/ballast etc works fine and continues to do so.