Discuss Emergency Lighting Periodic Inspection Cert (BS 5266)-Do I need to issue one? in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

jak_jones

Hi Everyone
I am a time served electrician now doing a caretaker/facilities manager role in a 6 Floor Office building which is mostly occupied by NHS employees. The building was built in the 60s so is quite old but everything has been kept up to date by the fella I work for. I have been in the role just over 2 years and when I started he asked me if I would do the EL testing (monthly/annual etc). The property services manager has just recently changed and as part of the compliance she is asking me for the above certificate. From what I have read this is only a completion/alteration cert so what should I be issuing her with?. She already has a copy of the logs which I make for the tests. Does the EL installation need rechecking to see if it meets up to date standards? Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers

Jak :D

I always recommend to my clients the annual test is a full duration Emergency lighting test AND inspection. Lets face it the regs change so often (so BSI can fill their pockets), its only prudent to check the systems compliance with current standards. Not sure that it is legislation but I expect the driving factors will likely be NHS procedures/insurance companies/CQC requirements..