Discuss ESC for car battery? in the Industrial Electrician Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

Battery

Hi all,

I am relatively new to electronics. I am building a device which uses a car battery to power a starter motor. The system is remote controlled and I want a suitable ESC to enable me to control the motor.

What ESC should I use?

Thanks,

basically, you need to calculate the max. current drawn by the motor, then search your controller to be able to handle the current. there are guys on this forum will know better than I where to search. not really my field of expertise.

The only efficient way to do this is by Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) - where the speed is controlled by duty cycle of the supply voltage.
It's efficient because the current is either on or off. you just vary the time on compared to time off to control the motor's output.
Take all the hard work out of it by using off-the-shelf control gear for model cars.
But you will be dealing with currents in the range of maybe 50 to 300A, depending on the size of starter motor and the mechanical loading on it.

Therefore you would need to build a suitable output booster stage to tag onto the model control gear.
It won't be cheap. Depending on what you're looking to drive, and the PWM frequency you need to use, have a look at Infineon ProFets.
I've used one to drive two high powered car radiator fans at variable speed - PWM'ing 30 Amps, the device got barely warm even withoiut a heatsink.
But I built my own PWM circuit (cribbed from a PC fan speed controller!) but I needed to run a low PWM frequency (about 100Hz) to minimise losses in the ProFet.

Because of the current involved, you may need to run a few devices in parallel.

Simon.