Discuss Everyone makes mistakes, Whats yours ? in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

sparkie710

Everyone will always make mistakes and now we all laugh about them but at the time we just want to go home. So what mistakes have people made here’s just a few of mine loll.

1. When I was an apprentice we was re-wiring houses and that obviously involves lifting single floor boards up. So yea you guessed it not once but twice has my foot fell down and gone throw the ceiling. Least I keep plasterers in their job.

2. Wiring up smoke alarms in a domestic property in the hallway, knocked a massive hole in the ceiling fished a wire across then realized the light didn’t have a permant live.

3. And my favorite, had to replace already wired smokes, and we only saw one in a house. so we replaced that and wired in a new one then realized the smoke originally had a 3 core in it, only realized there was one in the lounge so we replaced that and had to tell the woman that its safer to have 3.

4. Somebody told me a story that they were working in a room doing sockets, and an electrician was in the opposite, then out of the corner of his eye the duvet started moving. Apparently the other guy drilled through the wall, caught the duvet then went to take the drill out and nearly pulled the duvet through as well.

Allow me please to add some of mine.

Fitted a smoke alarm as an apprentice on the landing only to realise that the airing cupboard door would not open as it was too close.

Taking a cover off a 3 phase panel in a distribution warehouse and managed to "drop" the cover right down onto the 125A main switch. You guessed it, bump. Knock all the power off and 3 production lines.