Discuss Extending a rising main? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Y

youraveragejoe

I am a mechanical engineer and has come across a rising main in a house which had been cut and joined using a crimped barrel connector. Common senses tells me this is against regs but i cant find anything specific which says it is not acceptable. What do people think?

Thanks

a pic. would be useful. is the joint sound and insulated?

DSCF9439 (Large).JPG

Insulation consisted of standard insulation tape wrapped around it. Image above shows earth joint but others are the same. No evidence of over heating or failure.

Thanks

If the crimps are properly insulated and properly secured useing the correct tool, then they should be ok. If done correctly, crimps are classed as a fixed/permanent connection.
Although there is no substitute for a continued/unbroken cable.

Just to add, I am talking about crimps in general.
obviousley heat shrink should be used. The pic doesn't show the L & N, so can't comment on them.

Jay

Last edited:
the pic only shows the earth cable being joined. mapart from the excess copper on show, that's acceptable. if either or both live conductors are jointed similarly, they should be covere with the appropriate colored heat shrink sleeving. bog standard insulation tape is verboten.

Apart from excess insulation being removed and that it should have been crimped twice rather than the once or that it has hasn't been provided with a suitable means of insulation, it shouldn't be a problem.

You won't find anything in any regulations about this type of connection being against anything, as it's an approved/recognised form of ''Permanent'' connection/joint!!!

but only if it's done right. better than a choc block, as i have found from time to time.