Discuss Extractor Fan installation Help in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi

I'm new here and hoping someone might be able to give me some advise on my extractor fan. I have purchased Vent-Axia VASF100T fan and when I have come to install it is is not working, not sure whether it is me or the fan. The fan is controlled by a lighting switch out side the room and the wires we have to work with are a Earth, natural and live wire. The fan has a L, N and LS connection. Does this mean I need another wire to connect this or do I need a completely new fan. Hoping someone could help as I'm new to call this and just want to learn. Thanks again
Extractor Fan installation Help {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

Hi - can I suggest you have a close read of the installation instructions? They have a wiring diagram, including the 3A fuse required for that fan (if I am recalling correctly). Sorry, but it sounds like you may need an Electrician :) .

Last edited:
Taken from the manual (Sheet 4)

Extractor Fan installation Help upload_2018-4-9_17-29-20 - EletriciansForums.net

What we are trying to say is that your old fan, the one that you are possibly replacing, was not a fan with a timer and so you can either forego this feature or replace the fan with the correct one.
Can you tell us where you inserted the Brown (line) wire of the supply. In the live or the switch live terminal?

So the OP's been on .......... reviewed the thread and not updated us OR answered any points raised ...........................:(:(:(:(

He gone to check, he’ll be back in a minute!
So the OP's been on .......... reviewed the thread and not updated us OR answered any points raised ...........................:(:(:(:(