Discuss fault finding..... in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

W

webby_58

hi everyone newbie here...

i have recently passed my part 2 technical course & 17th edition and want to move into domestic electrical services. i have done a few small jobs for people gaining more experience as i go.

am waiting to do my test and inspect 2392 course, but have been asked to look at a light for someone that keeps trippng his fuse box - not sure if mcb or rcd as yet. i do have a 17th edition multifunction tester, could someone advise me of the correct series of tests to do to find the fault if not as simple as a loose connection. thanks in advance... IW​

first, a visual inspection of light fitting and switch, with power isolated. most of these faults are down to shorts, trapped conductors etc. at terminations. next check to see if a nail or screw has been put through cable above switch. if nothing obvious, use your tester on insulation resistance ( IR ). disconnect all 3 conductors in CU and measure L/E and N/E with switch on and off. ( anything under 2 meg is suspect, and will cause RCD trip). if it,s MCB tripping, then a short between L/N could be the culprit.

Reply to fault finding..... in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Evening all, I had a quick Friday afternoon domestic job that has turned into a PITA and I'd appreciate your help. While adding some new lights...
Replies
Views
Hi folks, Quick query for this still practicing regarding bill payment for a job not complete. My partner recently employed an electrician to do...
Replies
Views
Hi all I don't appear to be able to post in the DIY forum so apologies if this is the wrong place. I live in a block of flats with an external...
Replies
Views
I need your help please once again in tracing a fault. Am DIY but not clueless. Converting former kitchen into 2 rooms: bathroom and laundry. The...
Replies
Views